CB-HYDRONET

Congo Basin Water Resources Capacity Building Network 

CB-HYDRONET is a global network of capacity development in sustainable water management. It is a regional network open to individuals, institutions and organizations interested in the development and implementation of capacity building activities in the countries of the Congo Basin.

Presentation

Managing water resources in the Congo River Basin involves problems of lack of appropriate information, lack of technical resources and the sheer scale of the problem. Sustainable water resources management in the basin is a critical issue, but there are always insufficient resources available to formulate adequate management strategies. Future demands of water resources in the Congo Basin are enormous. Not only do the nine riparian countries expect a large share, but so do other drought-plagued regions across Africa such as the Lake Chad Region. Despite its crucial position in the world, the Congo Basin has not yet received adequate attention for capacity development. There is a lack of a framework for practical and creative solutions on water related issues for the basin. Amid these complex water resources management issues, there is need of a framework for capacity building and awareness rise to support decision making of IWRM in the Congo River Basin. It is in this context that Congo Basin Network for Capacity Building (CB-HYDRONET) was established as per April 2013 (in Kinshasa, DRC) with the aim to support sustainable water resources planning, management and development in the Congo Basin and riparian countries through capacity building activities.

Since its inception in 2013, CB-HYDRONET has realised a great deal of effort to achieve the vision of sustainable water resources planning, management and development in the Congo Basin and riparian countries through:

  • Strengthening the network and collaboration with the aim to establish a platform of knowledge management and capacity development in the region of the Congo basin and to develop strategies for collaborative activities and funding opportunities. In this regard, we succeeded to implement a number of representative nodes in different riparian countries of the Congo basin.

  • Implementation of several capacity building and training activities with the aim to increase the capacities of stakeholders with regard to improved water resources management practices in the Congo basin.

  • Knowledge sharing and dissemination with the aim to mainstream a framework of information sharing, develop training materials for knowledge management and support to the implementation of several ongoing and future research and investment initiatives in the basin.

Latest CB-Hydronet activities

For more activities on CB-Hydronet, Click here

CB-HYDRONET

Réseau du Bassin du Congo pour le Renforcement des Capacités en Ressources en Eau

Réseau de collaboration entre d'individus et institutions pour la recherche appliquée et le renforcement des capacités en science, gestion et utilisation des eaux du Bassin du Congo.

Présentation

La gestion des ressources en eau dans le Bassin du fleuve Congo est confrontée au manque d'informations appropriées, au manque de ressources techniques, et l'ampleur de leur corollaire. La gestion durable des ressources en eau dans le Bassin du Congo est une question cruciale, mais les ressources disponibles sont toujours insuffisantes pour formuler des stratégies adéquates de gestion. Les demandes futures en ressources en eau sont énormes. Non seulement les neuf pays riverains en attendent une grande part, mais aussi d'autres régions africaines frappées par la sécheresse, en l’occurrence la région du lac Tchad. Malgré sa position cruciale dans le monde, le Bassin du Congo n'a pas encore reçu l'attention nécessaire au développement des capacités de gestion. Il manque un cadre de concertation pour des solutions pratiques et innovantes aux problèmes liés à l'eau dans le bassin. Au cœur de ces questions complexes, il est nécessaire d'établir un cadre pour le renforcement des capacités et la sensibilisation afin de soutenir la prise de décision en matière de GIRE dans le Bassin du Congo. C'est dans ce contexte que le Réseau de renforcement des capacités du Bassin du Congo (CB-HYDRONET) a été créé en avril 2013 (à Kinshasa, RDC) dans le but de soutenir la planification, la gestion et le développement durables des ressources en eau dans le Bassin du Congo et les pays riverains par des activités de renforcement des capacités.

Depuis sa création en 2013, CB-HYDRONET a déployé beaucoup d'efforts dans l'accomplissement de la vision de la planification, la gestion et le développement durable des ressources en eau dans le Bassin du Congo et les pays riverains grâce à :

  • Le renforcement du réseau et de la collaboration dans le but d'établir une plateforme de gestion de connaissances et de développement des capacités dans la région du Bassin du Congo et de développer des stratégies pour des activités de collaboration et des opportunités de financement. À cet égard, nous avons réussi à mettre en place un certain nombre de points focaux représentatifs dans différents pays riverains du Bassin du Congo.

  • La mise en œuvre de plusieurs activités de renforcement des capacités et de formation dans le but d'accroître les capacités des parties prenantes en ce qui concerne l'amélioration des pratiques de gestion des ressources en eau dans le Bassin du Congo.

  • Le partage et la diffusion des connaissances dans le but d'intégrer un cadre de partage de l'information, de développer le matériel de formation pour la gestion des connaissances et de soutenir la mise en œuvre de plusieurs initiatives de recherche et d'investissement en cours et futures dans le bassin.

Dernières activités réalisées dans le cadre de CB-Hydronet

Pour accéder à toutes les activités précédentes de CB-Hydronet, Cliquez-ici